Notices
Honda Civic / Del Sol (1992 - 2000) EG/EH/EJ/EK/EM1 Discussion

about to buy a lsvtec eg hatch, appreciate your help

Old 01-29-2010, 09:29 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default about to buy my first b18c swapped eg hatch, appreciate your help

hey guys,

new to the board and relatively new to hondas but not new fast cars. My daily is a 100 shot ls1 camaro and I've been racing/building shifter karts and vintage porsches for a long time.

since I'm new to hondas was hoping you guys could give me some tips and input.

goal: build a bad *** prius out of a vtec swapped eg. 14.00 quarter mile and ability of >40mpg with the right driving and RELIABLE is the goal.

going to look at a 1994 civic dx hatch with a ls vtec motor in it. It used to put down 196whp with some aggressive blox cams and all bolt ons (hytech header, etc) but it has stock gsr cams in it now. so guessing 175whp maybe?

questions:

1. how reliable is this motor? the guy who built it seems to really knows his honda Sh*t but he did the bottom end himself. He says it's stock rods and crank with gsr oil pump and b16 pistons built 4k miles ago (but I'm sure some hard driving). Top end is built but with gsr cams in it now, (which I plan to keep.)

2. is 14.00 possible with this setup on nt555r tires? has stock integra ls tranny too (which I plan to keep but add lsd)

3. any thing in particular I should look out for both in ls vtec motor and eg civic chassis? common weak points to check? (every car has some)

4. can a ls vtec without block guard or sleeves RELIABLY take a 50 shot of nitrous if it's done smart/right?

any input is SUPER appreciated guys, thanks!

Last edited by neverstop; 02-02-2010 at 09:13 AM.
Old 01-29-2010, 09:40 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: about to buy a lsvtec eg hatch, appreciate your help

the nitrous issue will play a factor with your tune.