Notices
Honda Civic / Del Sol (1992 - 2000) EG/EH/EJ/EK/EM1 Discussion

99 Civix Ex - What Performance parts?

Search this Thread

Old 12-16-2013, 07:29 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Post 99 Civix Ex - What Performance parts?

Hi everyone, I just bought a used 1999 Honda civic ex 2 door coupe, and wanted to ask, what Performance parts should I consider to make my car run faster? more in terms of HP and/or speed. thnx.
Old 12-16-2013, 07:31 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 13 Likes on 13 Posts
Default Re: 1999 Honda Civix Ex Coupe

if it doesn't have a b-series swap one in. Upgrading a single cam is pointless N/A even boosting it you're limited to 200hp area.
Old 12-16-2013, 07:34 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Post Re: 1999 Honda Civix Ex Coupe

Also I'm new to Honda cars and do not have much car knowledge. So what does b-series mean?
Old 12-16-2013, 07:39 PM
Honda-Tech Member

It's the DOHC engines found in the civic Si and more commonly the Acura Integra's they fit nicely into civic tho. power rangers from 160hp to 200 they're found in 1.6l and 1.8l versions. Do a bit of reading around here you'll lean quick just hold off on spending money till you know what you want.
Old 12-16-2013, 07:42 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Yeah I like to do my research before I consider any of the possibilities and save some money. Thnx for the advice
Old 12-16-2013, 07:45 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Also I read in another Honda forum that you can turbo the b series engine if you wanted to. That's also what I'm considering once I have the money to swap to a b series engine if its possible.
Old 12-16-2013, 07:53 PM
I never narc'd on nobody!

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Don't waste your time with engine bolt-ons. They're nothing but bling and/or noise generators. That said, it doesn't matter if your car makes 97 hp, or 997 hp, without the right suspension, tires, and brakes, you're just going to flop around on the road/track/strip like a dying fish.