Honda-Tech - Honda Forum Discussion

Honda-Tech - Honda Forum Discussion (https://honda-tech.com/forums/)
-   Honda Civic / Del Sol (1992 - 2000) (https://honda-tech.com/forums/honda-civic-del-sol-1992-2000-1/)
-   -   99 Civic EX - need input on air intake and exhaust system upgrades (https://honda-tech.com/forums/honda-civic-del-sol-1992-2000-1/99-civic-ex-need-input-air-intake-exhaust-system-upgrades-2980589/)

99hondacivic 09-18-2011 12:29 PM

99 Civic EX - need input on air intake and exhaust system upgrades

hello everyone. im very new to the car department. i have a 1999 honda civic ex. all stock except for the rims. wondering what some good quality upgrades are. i want to get a cold air intake and an exhaust to start off. need help deciding which brand to get. and is a bypass valve for the CAI a good choice. thanks for all your help.

98civdx 09-18-2011 12:45 PM

Re: air intake

Quick qestion, why do you want a intake?

You are aware that you will gain next to noithing with a intake and exhuast right? They are usally considered expensive noise makers.

A intake and exhuast will go hand in hand with futher modifications, IE, internal. Such as a cam.

Also, don't foget about tuning. You will NEVER see the true/actual HP out of any mod without a tune.

Cap'N Chronic 09-18-2011 02:00 PM

If your looking into getting an intake I would just get a cheap aluminum piping one off of ebay, and swap out the filter that comes with it for a foam filter.

All of the expensive K&N and AEM intakes are way overpriced, and they all do the same thing on hondas.

And the reason for getting a foam filter is because the mesh filters that come with regular intakes don't filter out near as much particles in the air that could be harmful to your engine.

Here is a reputable site where I got my foam filter from: http://www.perrinperformance.com/

98civdx 09-18-2011 03:06 PM

Originally Posted by Cap'N Chronic (Post 46037891)