Notices
Honda Civic / Del Sol (1992 - 2000) EG/EH/EJ/EK/EM1 Discussion

98 HX/H2B swap - questions about tranny, OBD, and N/A

Search this Thread

Old 08-10-2014, 04:43 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 98 HX/H2B swap - questions about tranny, OBD, and N/A

I posted just a generalized post earlier about possibly swapping an H2B into my 98 HX. I have a few specific questions that if I could get answered would be fantastic. First of all, I am new to all of this so don't sugar coat anything. Tell me what I need to know.

1.B18 or B16 tranny and should I swap the final drive in either? To what? Where do I find transmissions online?
2.OBD1 or OBD2? And what would I need for this as far as jumpers, harness etc.
3.I'm staying N/A. Is it possible to pull 300whp from this with the right set up?

Anything else I need to know please feel free to help a brother out!! Thanks a ton from Afghanistan!
Old 08-10-2014, 05:59 AM
Technical Hero

Received 28 Likes on 20 Posts
Default Re: HELP

First off never make a post topic title listed "HELP", you need to be way more specific and I'm sure a mod will come fix it but just note that for the future.

That being said what is your goal for this car? Daily driver? Racing? Etc?

Why is 300 HP your goal? To get that NA you're going to have to drop some serious $$$
Old 08-10-2014, 06:35 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 44 Likes on 22 Posts
Default Re: HELP

Originally Posted by HondaPartsHero
First off never make a post topic title listed "HELP", you need to be way more specific and I'm sure a mod will come fix it but just note that for the future.

OP - Please read the forum Rules sticky.
Old 08-10-2014, 06:47 AM
B*a*n*n*e*d

Default Re: 98 HX/H2B swap - questions about tranny, OBD, and N/A

300 N.A is more easily doable with a J, not to mention more torque
Old 08-10-2014, 07:39 AM
Honda-Tech Member