Notices
Honda Civic / Del Sol (1992 - 2000) EG/EH/EJ/EK/EM1 Discussion

97 lx civic - need advice on all motor swap and build

Old 02-14-2013, 07:28 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 97 lx civic - need advice on all motor swap and build

I have just recently bought my 97 lx civic, I want to do a engine swap but not sure which engine to pick. I'm new with this so I would like something somewhat easy to swap, I don't want to Turbo it, I want to build a all motor vtec, I won't be racing it and it will be my dd, I need something reliable and I can have fun in it. I'm looking to put about 3000 into the swap give or take. Any suggestions much appreciated.
Old 02-14-2013, 07:42 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Re: 97 lx civic

B18c is a pretty good motor. B16 is 160hp but parts may be a little harder to find for it or may be more expensive.
Old 02-14-2013, 09:47 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Default Re: 97 lx civic - need advice on all motor swap and build

doing it yourself is fun. but be prepared to not have the vehicle for a long time. things take a lot longer the first time around. search around the site, see what you like. if you possibly have the money/time pick up somebodys junk cheap and rebuild it the way you want to. hmo motors is the BEST place to buy motors i hear, but it comes at a price. be extremely weary of buying someone elses swap on craigslist or anywhere else, because you are probably buying somebody elses junk and will be getting ripped off in more ways than one, especially to the untrained eye.