Notices
Honda Civic / Del Sol (1992 - 2000) EG/EH/EJ/EK/EM1 Discussion

97 ex tune up questions

Search this Thread

Old 11-15-2006, 07:49 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 97 ex tune up questions

wassup h-t peeps? I'm a lil new to the car thing... i've been an installer at circuit city roadshop for about 7 months now and have learned some good things about electronics. Well I want to do a tune up... and i'm wondering what stuff i should get. My car's at 112,000 miles and i'm sure that the spark plug wires haven't been changed. What type of spark wires and plugs should i get? also what else should i do for my tune up? the oil's been changed recently as well.
Old 11-15-2006, 07:50 AM
Honda-Tech Member

also, my car is a daily driver and i'll probably be turbo charging it in the near future.
Old 11-15-2006, 07:54 AM

Default Re: 97 ex tune up questions (perseverance)

oem is best, well best for you in this case. Sounds like your car is probably stock and you don't know much so getting all sorts of high performance parts will probably just make you broke. You can get parts at the dealer or at the autoparts store, both work fine, but the autoparts store won't rape you.

Just go to advance auto or something and tell them you need plugs, and wires for your car, another good idea would be clean or change out the cap and rotor. It's also a good idea to flush your coolant once a year, and brake fluid if you've never done that. Plus you may want to check your brake linings and rotors. Lastly, you can seafoam your engine which is a petroleum based solvent meant to work inside of you engine. You SLOWLY pour it in through the brake booster and it will break up carbon deposits in the engine. I think there may be a how to on it around here somewere, just don't add too much and lock up your motor.
Old 11-15-2006, 07:57 AM
Honda-Tech Member