Notices
Honda Civic / Del Sol (1992 - 2000) EG/EH/EJ/EK/EM1 Discussion

97 Ek Hatch Electrical problems...no crank

Search this Thread

Old 04-16-2012, 04:00 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 97 Ek Hatch Electrical problems...no crank

I just purchased this car to use as a DD.

Shortly after purchasing, I left the interior dome light on and tried to push start it with no luck so I left it at my friends.

I asked him to jump start it but he had no luck and I suspect he may have reversed the cables, when I came the next day it had a blown 80A battery fuse.

I replaced the fuse and it still had problems staying charge. I checked all grounds and re-wrapped the cluster of wires under the intake manifold as I've heard they can wear and eventually ground out.

Had the battery and alt tested, both tested good so there appeared to be a short somewhere between the alt and battery. I'm not very good with electrical in all honesty.

Yesterday we ran a 5g wire directly from the alt to battery (in hopes that there was maybe just a bad wire instead it grounding out somewhere)

It ran fine all day and got me to work today. When I was leaving it wouldn't crank over.

I push started and managed to get all the way home without it dieing or running too rough. No battery light, no blown fuses. I noticed the 15A ignition fuse (in the car) is a little singed on the pronges but no sign of it blowing or beginning to blow in the center of the fuse.

It won't start again now that it's at home.

A couple of key things that occured during driving it home, radio kept cutting in and out and got more severe to the point it was every couple of seconds..

Speedometer was working fine then started dropping and bouncing all over the place til eventually it would barely function.