Notices
Honda Civic / Del Sol (1992 - 2000) EG/EH/EJ/EK/EM1 Discussion

95 Civic, should I keep or sell?

Search this Thread

Old 12-26-2007, 06:28 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 95 Civic, should I keep or sell?

Just bought a used/slightly modified 95 Civic EX coupe as an inexpensive DD and so I can fiddle around with it and learn some stuff (I'm a noob). The color is a beautiful electron blue, which I love. Got it for $3,100 with 156k on the body and 110k on the LS swap. The problem is that there's a lot of things that need to be fixed and replaced in order for it to run like a normal car that I want it to. Speedometer stopped working, needs new CV boots, new suspension, alignment, and something with the coolant lines because it almost overheats when driving it (up to red), new brakes, new starter, and most likely a lot more. All of this would add up to me spending a whole lot more money than I originally intended. I'm really anxious to get it out on the road to use it as a daily driver, but I need to get these things replaced. Should I keep it and spend all that money on it if I can't fix it myself, or sell it and buy a more reliable civic that doesn't need much work? Give me some input, my mom's no help. She said I bought a lemon. Haha

Old 12-26-2007, 06:39 PM

It does sound like you payed quite a bit for as many problems as you say it has.

I would probably sell it.
Old 12-26-2007, 06:44 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Re: (RichieHemingway)

Fix it.

If you try to sell it with all that **** wrong with it it won't be worth crap, it'll be hard to sell.

Short of "the suspension" - none of the parts on that list are gonna break the bank.
Old 12-26-2007, 06:45 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Default Re:

With everything you just listed do you think you will get anywhere near what you paid for it back? Do you have a car payment?