Notices
Honda Civic / Del Sol (1992 - 2000) EG/EH/EJ/EK/EM1 Discussion

95 Civic radiator upgrade or repair?

Old 06-24-2018, 01:37 PM
Trial User

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Icon5 95 Civic radiator upgrade or repair?

Hello!
I'm new to the Honda game and have some questions related to cooling my engine. I'm not sure if its in need of repair or if I just need a plain old upgrade.
I live in Henderson NV where we are at the beginning of the summer, and the temp outside reached 113F 2 or so days ago.
My car overheats about every 2 weeks and when it does its low on "water" (old school, sorry). I fill it up and 2 weeks later it is overheating again. There are no visible signs of it leaking radiator fluid, but its 113F outside.... so I thought that might be an issue?
My question is what can I check as a basic maintenance thing first before I go about looking into upgrading my radiator completely?

Its a 4 door, automatic, says 16 valve on the engine. someone said there was "NO V-TECH, just plain stock".
I'm willing to look for a serial number if someone would be so kind as to tell me where to look. :D
-Lamont
Old 06-24-2018, 07:35 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Default Re: 95 Civic radiator upgrade or repair?

Originally Posted by Lamont Green
My car overheats about every 2 weeks and when it does its low on "water" (old school, sorry). I fill it up and 2 weeks later it is overheating again.
Most likely a blown head gasket. Along with the loss of coolant in the radiator is there a gain of coolant or overflow in the reservoir? Check when engine is cold (sitting overnight).