Notices
Honda Civic / Del Sol (1992 - 2000) EG/EH/EJ/EK/EM1 Discussion

'95 civic owner needs help diagnosing car problem!

Search this Thread

Old 12-27-2007, 12:37 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default '95 civic owner needs help diagnosing car problem!

Hi,

I'm new to cars and I was wondering if you guys here could give me some advice. I own a '95 honda civic hatchback dx.

Yesterday morning when I was pulling my car out of the driveway I noticed this sound that sounded like the scraping of metal come from the rear end my car everytime i stepped on the brakes. At first it was loud, but as I drove on to the mall, the sound getting smaller and eventually diminished, so I just ignored the problem.

Then, today it happened again. Initially it would be loud but after driving for 10-15 min the metal scraping noise would go away when the brakes are stepped on.

My parents suggested that I might need to replace the shoepads on my brakes? They told me it should be cheap to just replace the shoepads but when I went to the local gas station, they quoted me $150.

I've never replaced my shoepads before but I have had my rotors and muffler worked on before. and those costed about 150 each time,one time for the 2 rotors and 1 time for muffler. Surely just pads shouldn't be $150 right?

Is this price right? Is this sound that my car is making the pads? please help!
Old 12-27-2007, 12:56 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Re: '95 civic owner needs help diagnosing car problem! (Rorec)

<TABLE WIDTH="90%" CELLSPACING=0 CELLPADDING=0 ALIGN=CENTER><TR><TD>Quote, originally posted by Rorec &raquo;</TD></TR><TR><TD CLASS="quote">Hi,

I'm new to cars and I was wondering if you guys here could give me some advice. I own a '95 honda civic hatchback dx.