Notices
Honda Civic / Del Sol (1992 - 2000) EG/EH/EJ/EK/EM1 Discussion

94 cx running lean (failed smog test) plz help!!!

Search this Thread

Old 06-23-2007, 03:41 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 94 cx running lean (failed smog test) plz help!!!

smog guy says that my car is running lean.... what could be the cost of a stock civic running lean?? what should the fuel pressure be at on a stock 94 civic cx 1.5Liter?? what should i change?? cars been sitting for couple of months due to a rod snap, made a big hole on the block... so i put a new use engine in it...should i change the cat and o2 sensor?? what can i do to find out that my car is running lean??
Old 06-23-2007, 03:46 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Default Re: 94 cx running lean (failed smog test) plz help!!! (b20vtech)

im not a pro smog guy or anything but do you have your smog printout ? if so maybe put the info up and im sure someone can help u further
Old 06-23-2007, 03:49 PM

i assume you failed on NOx. It isn't necessarily running lean. It could be carbon build up, weak cooling system, etc. Assuming those are in check, I would start with a tune-up (if you havent done one in awhile) and check all your sensor parameters and make sure they are up to spec.

FPR should be at 36 with the vacuum hose on (at idle) and about 45psi with the hose off (WOT).
Old 06-23-2007, 04:43 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

When you blow a motor alot of oil/coolant usually goes thru the exhaust. Which in turn will take out the cat, or at least degrade it's effectiveness.

O2 sensor can be bad for the same reasons.

What was your HC numbers? if they are in the single digits O2 sensor would be my best guess. Unless you have a vacuum leak.

Also what are the O2 readings from the report anything above 0.5 for both parts of the test points to the cat, could be part O2 sensor too. You would like to see 0.0 for the 25 and at least 0.3 for the 15.
Old 06-23-2007, 04:50 PM