Notices
Honda Civic / Del Sol (1992 - 2000) EG/EH/EJ/EK/EM1 Discussion

93 hatch help, my car is revving and then drops it

Search this Thread

Old 05-01-2009, 06:42 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 93 hatch help, my car is revving and then drops it

im new to cars and trying to learn more about them... so bare with me.

When i am at a stand still or in neutral my car would rev a little then drop, or it sounds like its trying to stay alive or something.. i think it's a D15 engine. (stock) Is it because my fuel line is dirty or is something not working properly?

oh and can someone explain to me that i dont have to put in my clutch to start my car on neutral and my friends have to put it in first and push in clutch to start?
Old 05-01-2009, 06:50 AM

Default Re: 93 hatch help, my car is revving and then drops it

Originally Posted by Arrensaur
oh and can someone explain to me that i dont have to put in my clutch to start my car on neutral and my friends have to put it in first and push in clutch to start?
ecu????
Old 05-01-2009, 07:05 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

If when your at idle..the idle is surging. Like say jumping from 1,000RPMs to 2,000RPMs,etc..and surging steady. I would check and clean your IACV(Idle Air Control Valve).

Since you have a 93 EG Hatch the engine will depend on what Trim(DX, EX, Etc). Either way look on the backside of your Intake Manifold Plenum and you will see a sensor with a connector going to it. Unplug the connector, Take out the Two(2) 12mil bolts, Slide the clamps down off the 2 coolant hoses and take them off. Now you will have the IACV loose and in your hands..take it to a clean area and take a Toothbrush with Brake Cleaner/Carb Cleaner,etc and clean the mesh screen that you will see.