Notices
Honda Civic / Del Sol (1992 - 2000) EG/EH/EJ/EK/EM1 Discussion

93 Civic LX with multiple issues -- need help on repairs!

Search this Thread

Old 11-15-2014, 05:57 AM
Trial User

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 93 Civic LX with multiple issues -- need help on repairs!

Hello all! Im brand new to the world of civics, and i come from the world of the firebird! I rencently Bought a 93 lx with 169, xxx on the odo. The car had been sitting for 5 years, so I did a little bit of fixing on it. Just a heads up this thread will be a little lengthy.

What I've done thus far:
replaced master cylinder
oil change
marvel mystery oil in gas tank and oil
spark plugs and wire

So with all these repairs I'm still having problems. They are as follows
1) I have a coolant leak! When I added the new coolant (there was only a small amount if any when I got the car) it was in there for maybe a day max before I found it all over my driveway. I started to replace the lower radiator hose but it got to dark to quick and I had to put that off for a bit. Hopefully the hose will fix that problem.

2) after multiple attempts bleeding the brakes, I still have maybe 10% brake power. The handbrake works like a charm, but the brake pedal isn't giving me anything. I did bench bleed the master cylinder before I put it on, and did the two person method for each caliper, going furthest and working my way closer.

3) the little lever that controls cabin air temperature is stuck in the max cold position and will not budge even a towards the heat side.

4) when I changed the spark plugs, I noticed that I had a little bit of oil on the ends of all 4 of the old plugs.

5)my idle fluctuates from 1500-2000 when the car gets to operating temp, then the range starts lowering, going down to 1400-1900 then 1300-1800 and so on until it gets to about 1000-1500. I cleaned the IACV with carb cleaner, and it still does it.