Notices
Honda Civic / Del Sol (1992 - 2000) EG/EH/EJ/EK/EM1 Discussion

92 Civic CX Won't Start - fuel pump primes, has spark, but not CEL codes

Search this Thread

Old 02-22-2013, 09:12 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 92 Civic CX Won't Start - fuel pump primes, has spark, but not CEL codes

Hey everyone - I've decided to join Honda-Tech as it has been very resourceful in the past on giving me information. I'm new to engines and mechanical issues but I'm learning alot along the way and am confident that I can fix this issue myself - given some help from you guys!

I know my post is long but I'm hoping to offer as much info in advance so we don't have to play tag. Thanks SO much in advance!

I just moved to Cali and was looking for a job when my car spat out on me....

Issue:

So, with that said; my 1992 Honda Civic CX hatch (5-speed) was running buttery smooth the other day when all of a sudden I shifted into 5th gear and the car just died on me. And now it won't start up again. It cranks and tries to start but doesn't want to come alive on me.

So, being only 20 and this the first time I've had combustion issues I scoured online for the last week and thanks to all of you guys - I've found ALOT of info about my issue. But I'm stumped on what to do next. Again, I'm new to any of this so it is possible that I've overlooked something.

Note: my car's engine light comes on for two seconds then goes off (in pre-start up mode)

Troubleshooting Done as-of Now:

- I checked my spark plugs and plug wires and I have spark.
- Brand new battery as of November and the terminals are clear of corrosion.
- The spark plugs seem to have a little oil on them - but a friend inspected and wasn't too worried as they all had strong spark. Again my car was running PERFECT so nothing should have gotten down into my pistons.