Notices
Honda Civic / Del Sol (1992 - 2000) EG/EH/EJ/EK/EM1 Discussion

2000 Honda Civic EX Head Gasket Problems (2nd Gasket)

Search this Thread

Old 03-02-2016, 07:17 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2000 Honda Civic EX Head Gasket Problems (2nd Gasket)

Been reading the boards here for quite a few years but this is my first time posting. I’m having difficulties getting the head gasket to seal on my 2000 Civic EX with the D16Y8 engine. The car currently has 150,000 miles on it and runs well.
I bought the car new and it did overheat once at about 100K causing the original head gasket to eventually need replacing. I did the first head gasket at 115K, along with the timing belt and water pump. I checked the block and head at this time and they didn’t appear warped. I used a felpro gasket and purchased new head bolts (Honda OEM). Another 25-30K miles and it started leaking again. Coolant was leaking in to the pistons and car would have a rough idle until the coolant burned off. I drove it like this for another 5-10K miles like this adding coolant periodically up until 150,000 miles where I am now with my current problem.

The problem I am having after the 2nd head gasket is that the car starts to overheat when idling or when stopped in traffic. During normal driving without stop and go traffic the temperature gauge stays at the halfway mark. I am losing a small amount of coolant and I believe that the exhaust gas is leaking in to the cooling system causing an air pocket. I did bleed the air out of the cooling system, raising the front end and letting the car idle with radiator cap off. Radiator cap is also new (Honda OEM).