Notices
Honda Civic / Del Sol (1992 - 2000) EG/EH/EJ/EK/EM1 Discussion

1996 Civic Coupe EX Window issues

Search this Thread

Old 09-22-2013, 07:31 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 1996 Civic Coupe EX Window issues

Hey guys, Im not too tech savvy and have no idea how to do proper research on my problems here, so I apologize beforehand if this issue was brought up more than once...

I just bought a 1996 Honda Civic EX coupe 1.6l VTEC with 136k and have a couple issues...

WINDOWS
The switches from the driver control switches dont function, but the "OFF" tab works fine. The Passenger window will go down, but not up. A buddy and I attempted to take a look and we took off the door panels. Here is what we have so far... The passenger motor looks to be tired and will only move "up" so very little when the motor is cooled or not at all, that is when we are operating the passenger door switch. The drivers window doesnt do anything, no noise from the motor, its not heating up, nothing, and again, the switches on the drivers door dont do anything.

I have replaced the two 20amp "P/W DD" and "P/W AS" fuses under the dash (they were both blown) and the main block fuse under the hood.

Only thing I can think of is that the motor on passenger side is tired and could be replaced. As for the drivers side, is there a relay somewhere or could it be possible a wire was pinched somewhere that wouldnt allow the switch to work correctly? Even if that were true, then the "OFF" switch wouldnt work the way its supposed to, Im guessing...

MIRROR CONTROL
The control unit on my dash left of the wheel doesnt work or move the mirrors around like they're supposed to. Couldnt find a fuse or a proper look-over procedure for this... Any suggestion or advice here?

OBD CODE THROWN