Notices
Honda Civic / Del Sol (1992 - 2000) EG/EH/EJ/EK/EM1 Discussion

1996 Civic A/C Blower Issue

Search this Thread

Old 08-21-2013, 12:24 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Icon2 1996 Civic A/C Blower Issue

Hey all, new to the forums, and really hoping you can help. I have already done some searching and found some helpful info on the A/C blower I am having some problems with. However, I need some clarification in my issue. I apologize if I missed this somewhere else & it's not my intent to make a redundant thread. Also, I need to preface my query with the fact that I have only minimal experience with car repair. However, I am a great student, a quick learner, and follow instructions very well. Also a bit of back story: I had the A/C compressor clutch replaced about 6 weeks ago. That said...

My A/C works alright, when the blower is working. The blower isn't working consistently. I thought maybe it was the switch (on dash console), or perhaps even a fuse. Switch still engages the compressor (?) because I can hear the load increase on the motor, and what sounds like the compressor kicking on. The fuses all look good, albeit they are all original OEM. These fuses are the bigger ones under the hood. I think I see some very minor oxidation on a few of them, on the copper that spans the top of the fuse. I don't know how to test the integrity of the relays that are under the hood. I think that 3 of them are aftermarket (made in the USA by Omron(?)) and one of them looks OEM (made in Japan by...?). I imagine I can use a DC voltmeter, which I can borrow.

One post I read indicated to drop the blower from its mounting & run it hot from the battery to see if runs, or tries to run (thank you RonJ@HT http://goo.gl/OJEaIS). So I am willing to do that because I'm on a bootstrap budget right now, & the previous trip to the mechanic ran me a few hundred $$.