Notices
Honda Civic / Del Sol (1992 - 2000) EG/EH/EJ/EK/EM1 Discussion

1993 Del Sol - Check Engine Light (code 20) - I need your expertise!!!!!

Old 02-14-2011, 05:42 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 1993 Del Sol - Check Engine Light (code 20) - I need your expertise!!!!!

I have 1993 Del Sol (Civic) and the check engine light recently came on. I disconnected the battery to see if it is just a temporary thing, but the light stayed on. Here are my questions:

1) Where can I go to check the CEL code? I went to a nearby Autozone yesterday, but they can only check cars that are 97 or newer.

2) I need to take an emission test soon and they won't check with the light on. How can I turn this off until I get the problem fixed? If you know a way, please be specific as I'm not an expert on car fuses, wires, and where they are located...

Thanks!!
Old 02-14-2011, 07:08 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 43 Likes on 21 Posts
Default Re: 1993 Del Sol - Check Engine Light - I need your expertise!!!!!

Click CEL in my signature. This link brings you to the CEL sticky at the top of the forum.
Old 02-14-2011, 07:15 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Originally Posted by RonJ@HT
Click CEL in my signature. This link brings you to the CEL sticky at the top of the forum.
Thanks. Btw, is there a way I can turn this light off temporary or permanently?
Old 02-14-2011, 08:08 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

you cant just turn the light off, you need to fix the problem of the CEL will continue to come on. pull the code as described in the CEL sticky and go from there. all you need is a paperclip to get started
Old 02-14-2011, 09:01 AM
H-T White Ops

Received 18 Likes on 16 Posts

FYI, Autozone can check OBDII cars, which are 1996 and newer (and some '94s and some '95s - I've only managed to see one of these that was OBDII so far).

But yes, check the code using the paperclip trick, figure out what the code is and then post back!
Old 02-14-2011, 09:22 AM