Notices
Honda Civic / Del Sol (1992 - 2000) EG/EH/EJ/EK/EM1 Discussion

1993 CIVIC EX wont start FRUSTRATED

Search this Thread

Old 10-13-2010, 06:26 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 1993 CIVIC EX wont start FRUSTRATED

Greetings all. First of all let me start off by telling you people that I am a Journeyman Mechanic(Truck Mechanic) by trade and have been over 20 years. I do have plenty exp working on all types of cars also. But this car has got me fricken cross eyed. Here is the situation. My friend bought this thing for his kid. The fan was not kicking on and the kid overheated it pretty bad and blew the head gas. So he brings it to my house(lucky me). I pulled it apart and dropped the head off at machine shop. They pressure tested it(was good) and machined it. I picked it up and a gasket kit. I put it together, everything went as it should. I also gave it a complete tune up and replaced the fan switch. I checked the timing belt rotating the engine the correct direction several times and locked down the tensioner and rotated it again to check it again. All ok. The next morning I came down to the garage, double checked things, topped off the coolant and fired it up. It started immediately and sounded great. It ran for about 5 minutes at which time it made a strange sound and died. Tried to start, no start and it was cranking very fast like broken timing belt. looked at belt, was on there. I had my friend crank it over with the plugs out and I held a screw driver handle against plug holes because my comp tester was at work. no comp #4 for sure, felt low on #1 and #3 but hard to say. checked timing belt, to my surprise it was now one tooth off. F***! So I pulled the head off again to find both exhaust valves on #4 bent. Cant figure this out, ok maybe I fu**** up, but not something that happens too often. Lets assume I did. I got 2 exhaust valves, replaced them and checked the others out closely, looks good. Got another top end kit, reassembl