Notices
Honda Civic / Del Sol (1992 - 2000) EG/EH/EJ/EK/EM1 Discussion

1992 honda civic ECU: KL or KA?

Search this Thread

Old 05-03-2012, 04:55 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 1992 honda civic ECU: KL or KA?

Hi, I believe that I need to replace my ECU/ECM (reasoning below; if you think I am mistaken then please let me know! I'm an amateur).

My car is a 1992 Honda Civic DX Sedan with a manual transaxle. My car is originally from California and so is "type" KL5MT rather than KA5MT.

The main question is: does it matter which ECU I buy? I know it's related to emissions, but is there any other incompatibility that can occur? Assume that I will not return to California. The part numbers for the two ECUs are 37820-P06-A01 (for the KA5MT) and 37820-P06-L00 (for the KL5MT). The non-California one is much more common (obviously) and I prefer to buy that one.

As for why I think it's the ECU:

The bottom line is that the car won't start. But:

(1) battery is charged and healthy,

(2) the starter motor works fine and sounds healthy,

(3) all wiring between the battery and the distributor is good,

(4) rotor, cap, ICM, ignition coil, spark plugs are working (all but the coil are new actually) and pass all recommended electrical tests,

(5) there is no spark (using an inline test light)

Additionally, there was no fuel pressure after I released the initial remaining pressure from the release valve on top of the fuel filter. I didn't use a pressure tester (because I don't have one), but I re-tightened the release valve, tried starting a few more times and re-checked the release valve and no fuel came out. Also, I could not hear the fuel pump operating, although it is actually very quiet anyway. This made me highly suspicious, because what are the chances that the fuel pump and the distributor failed at the same exact time, right?