Notices
Honda Civic / Del Sol (1992 - 2000) EG/EH/EJ/EK/EM1 Discussion

The "Help Thomas with his first Strut/Spring Install" Thread

Old 10-11-2002, 06:13 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default The "Help Thomas with his first Strut/Spring Install" Thread

First off, I am a total noob (at least I am working on 'go before show'). However, I have documentation (Haynes Repair Manual) and have read about this install (from here and other sites) before I started.

Situation: I have a 95 Del Sol S. I am installing Koni Yellows (per H-T recommendation) and Neuspeed Sport Springs. I purchased the car used and it was already lowered with *gasp* APC adjustable springs on stock struts. I purchased a second set of jack stands (again, per H-T recommendation) and have all four wheels off the car. The front struts are removed.

Questions:
1. From the looks of the setup, I do not have a Camber Kit installed. However, with the APC/Stock setup, it looks like the camber is in spec. Upon removal, the Steering Knuckle (#5 on chart 1.1 on 10-3 in Haynes) has a set of what looks like brass collers installed on the "under" side of where the Steering Knuckle bolts to the chassie. Both of the front collers are slightly crushed. Is this a "rigged" camber kit? If so, what are my alternatives to do this right (within one day and locally)?

2. All 4 stock struts are missing the dust covers. How important are dust covers for my Koni's and should I go purchase a set? Anyone know the price???

Thanks in advance,

Thomas

Edit: Question 1 - (within one day and locally).

[Modified by mace232, 3:19 AM 10/12/2002]
Old 10-11-2002, 06:24 PM

Default Re: The "Help Thomas with his first Strut/Spring Install" Thread (mace232)