Notices
Honda Civic (2006 - 2015) 2006 - 2015 Civic Forums

vtec = death?

Old 06-07-2010, 07:36 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default vtec = death?

i am new to the SI. Got mine two weeks ago with 34,000 miles. I want this car to last for the amount of money i paid. What is the view on vtec? I dont want it smoking like every other honda over 130,000. But everyone hits vtec and cleans out carbon. So were does the point go from casual vtec to abuse? If your going to say "just drive the car" dont reply i am looking for a more serious answer.

2nd question: How often should oil be checked under normal conditions? (Not giving the car like hell) I had a rsx i checked every other day due to the fact their oil lights were known not to be the best.

3rd question: Is there a normal level of oil consumtion in the si's. Or they shouldn't burn unless your in vtec 24/7?

P.S. I am not new to the Honda scene just to the new si's.
Old 06-07-2010, 07:42 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Default Re: vtec = death?

I'm assuming this is an eighth gen? Like a new Si? At any rate my overall experience with all Hondas i've owned (a modest number but still many more than "most" people) is that if the engine has regular oil changes etc from being low miles it should be a really good running motor for a long time and use little to no oil. I have a 30k miles RSX-S motor (similar to the 8th gen Si) in my hatch and went 4k miles hitting VTEC often between changes and was still right where it was supposed to be on the stick at change time. I had a 94 GSR with over 200k on the clock that still didnt use more than a half a quart of oil every 3000-3500 miles.. that's amazing for that high of miles when it was revved to 8k regularly it's whole life.

Post pics!
Old 06-07-2010, 10:32 PM
K5^
Brand New

Received 5 Likes on 4 Posts