Notices
Honda Civic (2006 - 2015) 2006 - 2015 Civic Forums

Air Conditioning not cold when hot outside

Search this Thread

Old 07-28-2018, 01:39 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Air Conditioning not cold when hot outside

I have a 2008 Honda Civic LX sedan with automatic transmission. I'm no expert but I try to watch youtube videos and read forums to learn how to fix things on my own if possible. I apologize in advance if I mistake anything in my explanation.

My car recently started blowing warmer (not super hot but not cold enough to cool the cabin) air from the air conditioning vents. When my AC is on, my 2 fans (ac fan and radiator fan) are both blowing, and the compressor clutch is spinning. What type of interval is the compressor clutch supposed to have for spinning/not spinning? I checked the 12 volt A/C clutch relay and the compressor relay 7.5 fuse and switched them out. No change. I thought I was maybe low on refrigerant so I added some A/C Pro to the low valve with AC on max and all windows open. Compressor clutch was continuous and the the gauge showed 40 and I read a chart that said at 85 degrees (which was the temperature) it should be 45-55psi. I shook the can and pressed the trigger and it jumped to about 42psi but then the needle on the gauge kept spiking to around 60 psi. The compressor clutch was clicking on and off and made me nervous ha. The compressor clutch would click on and off about 8 times, then continuous spin for 15 seconds, then start doing this again, clicking on and off every 2 seconds, then stay on for 15 seconds. Maybe I have too much refrigerant? Is there an ambient temp/psi chart for 2008 Honda Civics? The gauge shows about 42 but then it spikes to 60.