Honda-Tech - Honda Forum Discussion

Honda-Tech - Honda Forum Discussion (https://honda-tech.com/forums/)
-   Honda Civic (2001 - 2005) (https://honda-tech.com/forums/honda-civic-2001-2005-78/)
-   -   How to Transmission Rebuild Guide? (https://honda-tech.com/forums/honda-civic-2001-2005-78/how-transmission-rebuild-guide-3049440/)

shillow 04-22-2012 05:16 PM

How to Transmission Rebuild Guide?

Im new to the civic but not Honda's. A little background, I just picked up my civic a week ago and after 3 days (first cold morning) I noticed the transmission slipping in the morning and since then its been slipping between 2nd and 3rd every time its driven after it cooled down. Now once it's warmed up (2 miles or so) and then shifts perfectly like when i test drove it (he must have had it nice and warmed up). The previous owner neglected to mention it had a trans problem and a few other minor problems which I'm working through now.:mad:

Anyway, I have been researching getting a replacement trans, rebuilding mine at a shop or rebuilding mine myself. I would like to tackle this but not if I can't find a good step by step thread or a manual that details the procedure. I'm not a professional mechanic but I do have a lot of experience with total rebuilds from dirt bikes to all types of vehicles...I'll save you guys/gals the boring details.:P I never jump in head first and I always read read and read some more before deciding to tackle something i've never done before. That's why Im posting in hopes that someone has a good link or possibly a manual or experience trying this themselves. So far I haven't come up with much on the DIY side of things. Also can anyone recommended a good quality kit?

Sorry for the long post and thanks in advance for any information:thumb up:

EM2abe 04-22-2012 11:18 PM

Re: How to Transmission Rebuild Guide?