Notices
Honda Civic (2001 - 2005) Coupe / Sedan / Hybrid (Includes Acura EL)

04 civic - passenger window not coming down?

Search this Thread

Old 05-15-2017, 03:33 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Icon5 04 civic - passenger window not coming down?

hi
so my civic ex 04 recently started having some weird window issues.
One of my passenger windows (the left side to be precise) has just stopped working. That is, neither the master switch on the driver side nor the corresponding left passenger switch is making the window even want to move. It's completely immobile. It was working a few days ago. I really do not know how to troubleshot this as im not a car expert. The window is currently completely closed, and can't get it to go down. Here are a few things I noticed/ I've tried so far:

1. Its only on one side. Yes, it only the left passenger. all the other windows work fine even the sunroof works fine.
2. neither the master nor the passenger switch can make it work.
3. It doesnt even sound like its trying to move. Ive read online that some times its the motor that fails. Well when that happens the window may have been failing for a while before completely dying no? also, the window does not even attempt to move when either switch is pressed. Like the motor isnt even trying to bring the window down, nothing, no sound, no twich, nothing.
4. All the fuses are fine. Ive checked the fuses and nothing.
5. Tried the power window reset thing online (hold down for 2 sec then all the way up for 2 sec while key is in ON or something like that, i dont remember the steps but you know what i mean).
6. The kids door lock switch is off, i tried flipping it ON to OFF and back and it didnt help.
7. Noticed it after my last car wash - relevant? Idk im just including it for completeness. My last car wash was 4 days ago and i remember closing the windows fine... then after that i dont even remember if i tried opening tbh until today...