2003 Honda civic LX no crank no start. Help!! - Honda-Tech - Honda Forum Discussion

Honda Civic (2001 - 2005) Coupe / Sedan / Hybrid (Includes Acura EL)

2003 Honda civic LX no crank no start. Help!!

Old 12-28-2017, 04:28 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Default 2003 Honda civic LX no crank no start. Help!!

Hello good people, I'm a noobie to Honda tech and am really pulling my hair out, at a loss for words but I have a weird issue. I basically woke up at 4 in the morning to take my mother in law to dialysis here in Houston, it was like 30 something degrees outside and went to start my car and no start or no cranking. I got a jump from my neighbor but no start. I assumed it was the starter but I just replaced it a year ago from AutoZone duralast crap as well as recently the alternator. I just drove the car the night before and no issues what so ever. I checked fuses, relays, no CEL, no power loss, fuel pump is priming, relays are clicking when I turn the key. But I replaced the starter again to be safe, lifetime warranty crap and same problem. But I did notice the crank does turn but slow and when I removed the starter, I noticed some of the teeth on the flywheel had a little wear like when you rub metal on metal it's shiny. But didn't notice any missing broken teeth. I want to check the spark plug to see if its covered in oil or gas, I hadn't had time to really take my time checking things cause of the rain we been having here but I took a vid of the noise it's doing, really sounds like the starter is just turning and not engaging the flywheel or something simple, (hopefully) plus I changed the spark plugs about 6-7 months ago ngk's of course. Maybe should just take the starter back and have it tested, but any help guys is appreciated. I really don't think it's the timing belt cause how could it mess up sitting in the cold overnight. Thanks guys

https://www.dropbox.com/s/0zqj985w5092aqv/trim_trim_VID_20171226_081935_003_001.mp4?dl=0
Old 12-28-2017, 01:26 PM