Notices
Honda Accord & Crosstour (2003 - 2012) 2003 - 2012 Honda Accord and Inspire

Engine cranks but wont start. Bad programming?

Search this Thread

Old 12-01-2010, 09:28 PM
Trial User

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Icon2 Engine cranks but wont start. Bad programming?

Hello Honda-Tech community! I'm a Noob on this particular site, but I come to you educated Honda people to perhaps enlighten me with your vast knowledge. I have a 2003 Honda Accord V6-6sp Coupe with a hole where the navi was. Purchased it as a 'theft recovery' vehicle at an auto auction. It had no key, so I had the dealership cut me one, and an independent, but well respected locksmith program the key for me. The locksmiths fancy computer shows the key to be correctly programmed, but it wont start the car. The engine turns over but it wont start. I also get the green 'flashing key' light that continues to blink after the first several initial blinks with the ignition on. The locksmith says the antenna, that's supposed to pick up the signal from the key chip, doesn't detect the signal/key. I swapped the 'antenna' (the dark gray plastic box with a ring that fits around the ignition cylinder) from an 04 Accord, but still no luck. Can anyone shed some light on this issue? Which fuse(s) feed the power to the antenna? Is there any place I should look for a kill switch maybe? Any other issues that may possibly cause the car not to start? Thank you in advance.
Old 12-02-2010, 04:45 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Default Re: Engine cranks but wont start. Bad programming?

Originally Posted by Bulba