Notices
Honda Accord & Crosstour (2003 - 2012) 2003 - 2012 Honda Accord and Inspire

ABS Pump Motor Relay Short Help Needed

Old 07-08-2011, 01:26 PM
Trial User

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Icon6 ABS Pump Motor Relay Short Help Needed

I'm a newbie to this neat forum. I didn't put my Accord year in the title of this post, as I believe the ABS unit is the same across several of the 7th gen Accords.

Anyway, I have a 2003 Accord EX (4cyl) that's been a bit of a lemon. Lots of various problems over the years. The latest is an ABS pump motor relay short (53-1).

I took it to the dealer and they inspected the ABS modulator unit. They said the terminals(?) were corroded and they either cleaned or replaced them before testing it again. The ABS still throws the 53-1 code. They're quoting $1200 to replace the ABS modulator.

There's a Tech advisory (TS021103) which states that the service Manual troubleshooting for DTC 51 and/or 53 prematurely recommends ABS modulator unit replacement. Always inspect and clean the ABS modulator pump motor ground before replacing the ABS modulator unit. It looks like the dealer did this, but didn't check the wires.

My questions:

1. If the ground wire is kaput from the ABS connector to the frame is bad, wouldn't that create a short? Then cleaning the ABS pump motor ground (as the dealer did) will do no good.

2. Is the ABS modulator easily accessible? (I'm not sure where it is, so any help finding it would be great).

3. BillD123 in topic "SOLVED: 2005 Accord Ex: ABS Modulator Failure" tested the wiring in his ABS. He noted: "Found that PINS 24 & 25 had no continuity to chassis ground. Traced wires in harness to ring connector under the power steering Reservoir bracket. Removed, cleaned, reconnected and tested ABS Connector PINS 24 & 25 for continuity to ground. Good ground now present."