Notices
Honda Accord & Crosstour (2003 - 2012) 2003 - 2012 Honda Accord and Inspire

05 Accord weird radio problem and warrenty questions

Search this Thread

Old 12-12-2011, 09:03 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 05 Accord weird radio problem and warrenty questions

Hello everyone. I am new to the newer generation Honda's and my girlfriend is having a really weird radio problem. Let me start from the beginning. It is a 2005 Honda Accord LX 4 cylinder FACTORY radio. About a year ago the radio started acting funny. The back light would go out sometimes. And the radio/CD player would work on and off. Then everything would work fine for awhile. Now the back light doesn't come on at all. The radio shut off for about a month and finally came back on a few weeks maybe a month ago but has stayed on since although the light doesn't work. Now, since yesterday afternoon my girlfriend noticed when she was about to go home from work that the radio was on. No keys in the ignition. She had just unlocked the car and got in and the radio was on. She came home and let me know and i didn't think much of it. Then last night when I got in the car, same situation as before, no keys in the ignition just recently unlocked, the radio was playing. Now I'm afraid that the radio will eventually drain the battery and we'll be left stranded somewhere.

Now my question is: What are some probable causes of this? Anyone else experience this? Anyone have a fix to this problem? I did some research and no problems were a match to mine. Others experienced radio's staying on when the car was turned off. My radio shuts off when the car turns off. But magically comes back on hours later when I come back to the car.