Notices
Honda Accord & Crosstour (2003 - 2012) 2003 - 2012 Honda Accord and Inspire

What should I do?

Search this Thread

Old 09-05-2013, 05:13 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default What should I do?

Hey, I'm just getting into working on my car. It's got over 130000 miles and I realized pretty quickly that a new timing belt was needed which led me to wanting to go ahead and replace spark plugs.

My question is: in y'all's opinions, what should I work on to get my car performing at its best and lasting for a long time.

I know this is pretty random but I just wanted to get a feel for what you experienced folks would recommend first.
Old 09-05-2013, 07:01 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts
Default Re: What should I do?

If the timing belt has never been changed, that should be high on the list. You don't want to know what happens if it snaps. Do you know the maintenance history, like transmission fluid changes etc.? Here is a link you might want to check out. It has some good information about your engine and transmission.
http://www.brisdance.com/Honda/index.html
Old 09-06-2013, 07:09 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Yeah, I'm a little freaked that I'm driving a ticking time bomb with my timing belt. I just got the kit in the mail so I'm fixing next week when I have a few days off (just in case I have to make some tool runs while it's in progress.

I have no clue about the maintenance history. My guess is that it's only gotten the basics (oil change, tire rotation, etc.). Probably not much when it comes to fluids and hose changes.
Old 09-06-2013, 10:22 AM
Honda-Tech Member