Notices
Honda Accord & Crosstour (2003 - 2012) 2003 - 2012 Honda Accord and Inspire

Timing Belt on 06 6-6speed?

Search this Thread

Old 07-12-2011, 07:02 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Timing Belt on 06 6-6speed?

Has anyone done the timing belt on their one of the Accord V6 6speeds? I'm asking in particular because I'm needing to either do it or get it done on my 06. I've never done a timing belt before, or anything even similar, but I've yet to find a single shop in my area that I trust, and I'm not looking forward to paying outrageous amounts to get it changed. I have basic mechanical knowledge, and can do a decent bit of work to the cars, but I've never done something like this. I normally do fluid changes, brake work, a/c work, have changed out ball joints, struts, etc. So I'm just wondering if anyone has a write up or directions for this timing belt, and if it's something that a novice backyard mechanic like myself should even try to attempt, or if I should just pony up the cash and pay someone to do it? My biggest fear in addition to paying a ton to get it done, is that they won't really change it, and just charge me for it. Or charge me about 2-3 times what it should cost. Those two things both seem to be common in this area.
Old 07-13-2011, 02:12 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts
Default Re: Timing Belt on 06 6-6speed?

I plan to do my own timing belt this fall. I posted a link below with a how-to with pictures. It's on an Acura TL but the engines are the same as ours, as far as the timing belt is concerned. I would not depend on the how-to alone, to do the job. I suggest getting a Helm service manual, if you don't have one. Go through all the steps in the service manual, and that should give you some idea if you want to do it yourself or not. Link below
http://tl.acurazine.com/forums/showthread.php?t=695821
Old 07-17-2011, 08:44 PM
Honda-Tech Member