Notices
Honda Accord & Crosstour (2003 - 2012) 2003 - 2012 Honda Accord and Inspire

'03 Accord LX (K24) Throttle Position Sensor HELP!

Search this Thread

Old 05-16-2010, 10:13 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Icon2 '03 Accord LX (K24) Throttle Position Sensor HELP!

I got a code for a bad TPS on my Accord. I know that I'm supposed to buy a whole new throttle body ($500), but I see that there are a couple of "racing" TPS's that I can buy for $80 - $120.

Does anyone have any experience taking-off the factory one and using any of these non-factory replacement TPS's?

I'm not an expert mechanic or anything, so any suggestions would help. Thanks everyone!
Old 05-16-2010, 11:19 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Default Re: '03 Accord LX (K24) Throttle Position Sensor HELP!

Here are some pictures. Can anyone please tell me what these three lines are? Also... Please take a look at the fasteners on the TPS. Some people have said that they're usually riveted on, but it almost looks like they're actually anchor-nuts with screws coming through from the other side.

Old 05-17-2010, 04:15 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Originally Posted by Shane_1983
Here are some pictures. Can anyone please tell me what these three lines are? Also... Please take a look at the fasteners on the TPS. Some people have said that they're usually riveted on, but it almost looks like they're actually anchor-nuts with screws coming through from the other side.

1# I think goes to air assist valve on inner IM (if you followed hose to other end and took pic, know for sure )
2# and 3# are heater water lines to keep TB warm and stop it from sticking in cold weather .
Old 05-17-2010, 05:00 AM
Honda-Tech Member

cut a line all the way across the tamper proof rivets (very carefully) big enough so you can use a flathead screwdriver. It should come out very easily(be very steady with your cutting)
Old 05-17-2010, 06:14 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Thanks for the replies.

**Update**