Notices
Honda Accord (1990 - 2002) Includes 1997 - 1999 Acura CL

Something weird happened tonight

Search this Thread

Old 09-25-2011, 08:26 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Something weird happened tonight

I have a 92 accord ex f22a6 and I left work drove 21 miles home. The temp gauge read maybe a needle and half below mid mark the entire way, never went up at long stop lights or anything. I stopped at a shell mart and was inside for maybe 2-3 minutes...came back out (The fan was running) and my temp gauge was a hair above 3/4 I revved it to about 2k and it came back down to normal. She runs beautifully, The oil is clean, no oil in the coolant and no steam or coolant smell in the exhaust. A buddy did the chemical test to see if exhaust gasses were getting passed to the coolant...nothing. I have a new thermostat(180 Degree) and was gonna replace that tomorrow and the coolant level was full.

A friend suggested that I contact a Witch Doctor to remove evil spirits...
Has anyone seen this?

Thanks in advance,
Gandalf
Old 09-25-2011, 08:39 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 64 Likes on 62 Posts
Default Re: Something weird happened tonight

I am having a similar issue as of late so I would be interested to hear what people come up with..
Idle or moving (with fans working) the gauge just creeps up until you give it a quick rev.. then its back to normal
Old 09-25-2011, 09:40 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

May just need the thermostat replaced, refill with coolant/water mix and purge out any air pockets in the system.
Old 09-25-2011, 11:38 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 64 Likes on 62 Posts

Interestingly, I removed my theromostat and changed the coolant.. The only bleeding I did was letting it run with the cap off for about 5 mins..

Plan on putting in a new thermo this week but can do with some advice on how to bleed air pockets from the system correctly...

Thanks
Old 09-26-2011, 08:02 AM
Honda-Tech Member