Notices
Honda Accord (1990 - 2002) Includes 1997 - 1999 Acura CL

Removing ecu to prevent theft?

Search this Thread

Old 06-30-2004, 11:14 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Removing ecu to prevent theft?

I've never done it before but unfortunately due to recent events I have to start... does anyone here have any opinions on this?... Recently my car was stolen so I want to know if it's convinient to do this... also am I right to think that this the best way to prevent theft [I have no garage must park car on street]? Is taking ecu out of the car frequently considered potentially harmful and damaging to the ecu physically? Where is the ecu located in a typical car and what do I need to take it out? Right now I'm taking the bus and walking but eventually I have to buy another car..... and don't want this to happen to me again.
Old 06-30-2004, 11:18 PM

Default Re: Removing ecu to prevent theft? (Wong)

its not convienent but its been done. generally its under the passenger side footrest dealy. kinda pain in the butt to do.
Old 06-30-2004, 11:48 PM
Honda-Tech Member

damn man sorry to hear that...you could take out the ecu, there would be no problem with taking it out daily, just have to be careful with it, and you cant get lazy... cause it will become a pain in the ***.
Old 07-01-2004, 05:07 AM
H-T Order of Merit

Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts
Default Re: Removing ecu to prevent theft? (Intense2.2)