Notices
Honda Accord (1990 - 2002) Includes 1997 - 1999 Acura CL

P1457 and bad ECM?

Search this Thread

Old 01-03-2009, 01:09 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default P1457 and bad ECM?

Hello folks, I'm new here but have been reading your forum to work on the wife's 99 Accord for some time. At one time I was an ASE Master Tech in both car and heavy truck so I know what end of the wrench to hold, but walked away from the biz about 8 yrs ago. I'm hoping I might gain a little info. I got a P1457 6 months ago and like alot of mechanics, blew it off until NY inspection came due and had to repair it. I went to the dealer to buy the valve know for corroding and the parts guy told me that their mechanic just go ahead and replace the vent shut valve and the soleniod valve (#7 &#8 on parts microfish) and the cannister. I went ahead and replaced them and the tank immediately held pressure or vacuum, which it hadn't before. Unfortunately, 50 miles later it threw the same code. I read here or somewhere that there were problems with it frying the ecm due to one of the valves shorting. Is there a way for me to test this with a multimeter, and if so how. If not and I must take it to a dealer I have a few other questions. If I get a used ECM what do I have to do about the damn keys! Do I need to have the dealer install the ECM so they can flash it? If anyone can think of anything I may have overlooked please chime in. I have not tested the purge control valve but but according to the parts microfishes, my 4 cyl doesn't have one. If it does, I will test it tommorrow. The dealer also told me that the valve on top of the tank rarely goes bad and if it did, it shouldn't let the tank hold pressure. I did run it along time with the corroded valve and the light on so I am afraid it is the ECM. Are there any tricks to fooling the ecm to pass emmisions test? I read the TSB and they mention a "good will" possiblity, my car has close to 150K, any chance of "good will" from Honda? Any and all