Notices
Honda Accord (1990 - 2002) Includes 1997 - 1999 Acura CL

intermittent squeal/whine after timing belt/water pump change

Search this Thread

Old 12-23-2007, 03:42 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default intermittent squeal/whine after timing belt/water pump change

I've just completed (hopefully) my first timing belt and water pump change out on my son's 97 Accord EX, 4 cylinder. Car fired right up afterwards, but was making a lot of noise. Found one lower TB cover bolt loose. That helped with the rubbing noise. Then I got what I thought to be bearing squeal from a too-tight belt. Loosened the PS and alternator belts. That racket ceased. I then let the car idle a while to open the thermostat so I could add coolant. I'd previously opened the bleed valve and added enough to get a steady stream from there. As the car warmed up, I started getting more of a squeal. Sounded maybe like bearings complaining again, but I'm a novice, so who knows? I fiddled with the accessory belts some more with no change. I shut it off in despair, thinking I'd screwed something up royally. I went to move the car an hour or so later and it sounded fine. I took it out for a leisurely warm up of maybe two miles. It drove great but, when I pulled into the drive, it started making the noise again. Can I have the tension on the timing belt so tight that the new pump is starting to complain already? I've subsequently driven the car twice, with it starting out quiet, running well, but at the end of 2 or 3 miles you get the chattering, squealing noise that sounds too metallic to be just a belt slipping.

The car is warming up normally, and plenty of consistent heat is coming out of the heater, so I don't think there are any coolant issues.
Old 12-23-2007, 04:33 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Default Re: intermittent squeal/whine after timing belt/water pump change (johnlivingston)