Notices
Honda Accord (1990 - 2002) Includes 1997 - 1999 Acura CL

brake issue and idle issue connected?

Search this Thread

Old 03-25-2014, 08:10 PM
jvr
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Icon2 brake issue and idle issue connected?

Ok so I have two separate problems, but they are related in some way (or at least affect each other).

First, my brake pedal feels spongy... When the engine is on and the car is stopped, pumping the brakes does not increase the pressure I feel in the pedal. But when the engine is off and I pump the brake pedal, it starts pushing back MUCH harder and does not depress all the way to the floor like it does when the engine is running. Could I have a faulty seal in the master cylinder? Would that require a replacement of the MC or can I replace the seal/fluid myself?

Second, my warm idle is low... It hovers right around 400-500rpm, it doesn't jump all over the place or surge, it's just low. HOWEVER, when I pump the brake pedal, the idle goes up to about 750rpm until I stop pumping, at which point it goes back to 4-500.

Would cleaning the fitv, iacv, and tb help the low idle? I haven't checked if that white screw in the fitv is unscrewing itself, but from reading that thread it seems like most of the time that causes a HIGH idle or large surges in rpm, which I don't have... Mine is just lower than it should be.

So, are these issues connected? Should I follow the instructions in that thread for cleaning up the idle system? Or could this possibly be an actual idle set screw problem? I don't want to mess with that until I rule out everything else since that would just hide the real cause.

Thanks for your input.
Old 03-25-2014, 10:27 PM
MM Gruppe B

Received 83 Likes on 76 Posts
Default Re: brake issue and idle issue connected?

Originally Posted by jvr
First, my brake pedal feels spongy..