Notices
Honda Accord (1990 - 2002) Includes 1997 - 1999 Acura CL

Accident, Airbags Deployed, Won't start. Fuel pump and SRS fuses keep blowing

Search this Thread

Old 05-16-2017, 04:14 PM
Trial User

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Accident, Airbags Deployed, Won't start. Fuel pump and SRS fuses keep blowing

Hey guys! My girlfriend recently rear-ended someone going about 20mph in her 96' Accord, airbags were deployed. Car cranks but won't start. After I did a brief inspection I noticed that the SRS and Fuel pump fuses were blown, when I try to replace them they instantly re-blow. Also, as far as I can tell the shifter is also locked in park. I'm curious if this is the SRS module still sending out a "There was an accident cut the fuel pump" signal and I need to disconnect/replace the module, or if there's likely something else going on here. I'm not a mechanic but good at troubleshooting and DIY, we're fairly strapped for cash so trying to figure this out without taking it into a shop, as far as I can tell nothing has changed in the engine bay and mechanically the car should run.

Any advice is greatly appreciated, thanks!
Old 05-17-2017, 08:14 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Default Re: Accident, Airbags Deployed, Won't start. Fuel pump and SRS fuses keep blowing

I'm not that familiar with SRS functions, but blowing fuses is not from a "cut the power" input. Blown fuses are from a short, either in the wiring or the pump itself. You might pull the leads from the fuel pump back at the pump (in the trunk) and check resistance there. Or better advice: get the wiring diagram and start testing for a short downstream from the fuse block.
As for the trans locked in park: I can't tell you anything, and I hope someone else can comment. It may be interlocked with the issue with your fuel pump power.
Old 05-18-2017, 12:24 PM
Trial User

Default Re: Accident, Airbags Deployed, Won't start. Fuel pump and SRS fuses keep blowing