Honda-Tech - Honda Forum Discussion

Honda-Tech - Honda Forum Discussion (https://honda-tech.com/forums/)
-   Honda Accord (1990 - 2002) (https://honda-tech.com/forums/honda-accord-1990-2002-2/)
-   -   2000 Accord 3.0 Cranks but won't start (https://honda-tech.com/forums/honda-accord-1990-2002-2/2000-accord-3-0-cranks-but-wont-start-3303753/)

Reds Rod Shop 07-25-2017 02:45 PM

2000 Accord 3.0 Cranks but won't start

Good afternoon guys, I'm new to the sight but not new to cars. I recently purchased a 2000 Accord 3.0 with an astounding ~380k miles. The car has been well maintained throughout its life with all routine maintenance completed by the dealership. The Previous owner was riding down the road and it just cut off and will not crank. Timing belts are less than 6 months old and look good. I've checked and it has fire on at the plugs. (I checked 2 of them). I couldn't find a place to plug my fuel pressure gage into but when I cracked the fuel line at the firewall, I was sprayed and when I turn the ignition switch on, I can hear the fuel pump running for about 4 or 5 seconds. Another clue that I've noticed is that after it sits for a while, say an hour, when I start it , it sounds like it wants to hit. Could this be a crank position sensor or cam sensor going bad? I ask because my Dad's truck was doing the same thing and after several hundred dollars of parts swapping, it was a $35 cam sensor. Any way to check? I'm really hoping to have this car going for my daughter to drive in a few months when she gets her license. Thanks in advance for any info on this.

user456101 07-26-2017 03:03 AM

Re: 2000 Accord 3.0 Cranks but won't start