Working out at the gym - Honda-Tech - Honda Forum Discussion

Notices
General Discussion and Debate Discuss, Debate, and Converse with other Honda-Tech members in a mature, intelligent manner.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Working out at the gym

Old 06-02-2010, 09:29 AM
Team Purple

Default Working out at the gym

Alright so I am getting my gym membership in a few days after my deload so I will be able to do even more workouts now. This is good because I won't be limited anymore. DB stuff, machine stuff, cable stuff, etc. (I will still keep my free weights in the garage and use them when I am too lazy to go to the gym or if I am just testing for a 1RM, etc)

So my question is this:

Can you help me create a routine? (Since I havent' used much DB work or cable/machine stuff) I want to do something like this:

Tue: Chest/Tris
Thur: Back/Bis
Sun: Legs/Shoulders

Does this sound like a good 3 day routine guideline? I've been using this for the last 7 months or so and it has been working pretty good for me. I am used to it so that is why I am inclined to keep using this basic layout.

What is a good rule of thumb for DB benching? Is it usually a little less than 1/2 of what you do with a BB? (Ie, you rep 100lb with the BB you can DB press 45lb?) What about lat pull down stuff, I was thinking of incorporating something like this but I don't want my shoulders to get toasted since it is my weak link, are these safe for your shoulders? (I just remember doing these when I had really weak shoulders years and years ago and it was extremely uncomfortable to do even moderately heavy weights.

I'm pretty sure there should be power racks there (It is a really nice gym) so I won't need to ask for spotters, right? I won't be going for any 1RM any time soon, just working sets.

Oh yeah, and any other comments about gym ettiquete or advice in general, please post