Notices
General Discussion and Debate Discuss, Debate, and Converse with other Honda-Tech members in a mature, intelligent manner.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Strongman Competition writeup

Old 06-06-2011, 09:10 AM
Solbros Owns Me

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Strongman Competition writeup

4th Annual Washington's Strongest Apple 2011

I wanted to do a quick little writeup involving my cut for weigh ins, my prep, and my performance from the show.

I signed up for a few PL meets in the past, only to have them be canceled. I got sick of the lack of dynamics in PL so I started training strongman the day after Christmas with a good group of guys. To be a good strongman, you need strong, and I mean strong hips, grip, back, legs, and pressing power. You need to be good at everything if you want to do well, and that's what makes it so fun.

I started training SM at about 260lbs or so, as I had quit conditioning and was focusing on PL mostly. I slowly started adding more conditioning- prowler, tire flips for distance, medleys, etc I started to hover around 250 or so.

Signed up for Washington's Strongest Apple about 1 1/2 months ago and knew I had to compete in the 231 class, as there is no way I could hang with the heavyweights I started eating paleo and adding in some more conditioning and some active recovery cardio days. On Friday, I woke up at 234 lbs. I had to be 231.4 or less to be in the 231 class so I did some jump rope, light jogs, and sweat some water out. I didn't consume any water or food since Thursday evening around 6.

Our trip to Seattle from Vancouver was about 2 1/2 hours. At Fort Lewis, 40 miles from weigh ins, I weighed myself to see how I was looking... 233.0 in shorts and shirt. Crap. I threw on some Dickies pants, hoodie, and blasted my heater and seat heater to sweat off a few lbs. Made weigh ins an hour later at 230.8!

Contest day: