Inverse Austinkli thread: you are the candidate - Honda-Tech - Honda Forum Discussion

Go Back  Honda-Tech - Honda Forum Discussion > Community Forums > General Discussion and Debate
Reload this Page > Inverse Austinkli thread: you are the candidate
General Discussion and Debate Discuss, Debate, and Converse with other Honda-Tech members in a mature, intelligent manner.

Inverse Austinkli thread: you are the candidate

Old 04-16-2018, 10:41 AM
Oracle of GDD

Default Inverse Austinkli thread: you are the candidate

So I got a recruitment email last week for a really good position. It's "dream come true" stuff--full benefits (I'm a FT hourly contractor now), yuge pay increase, room to grow in a new department, short commute, reputable company.

I responded professionally/promptly to the recruiter and applied for the position on Friday. I expect to hear something this week and they are looking to fill in the next 4-6 weeks.

My big concern is, at what point in the process does my current employer deserve a heads-up? I absolutely love working there and the people are amazing. I don't want to jam them up at all scheduling/workflow-wise, and I also want to prepare them to be contacted as references.

The conventional wisdom from friends and family seems to be that I shouldn't say anything, at all, until I've secured a formal offer for the new job. Obviously that is logical since in case it doesn't work out, you don't want to be stuck at the old job having tried to jump ship. Is there a way to thread the needle that I haven't thought of?
Old 04-16-2018, 10:43 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Default Re: Inverse Austinkli thread: you are the candidate

Typically a company will offer you a job and THEN contact previous employers. I would wait to ensure you've been offered the job and then let them know, especially if your current employer may be seen as a competitor of any sorts.
Old 04-16-2018, 10:44 AM
Imgur Lives Matter

Old 04-16-2018, 10:49 AM
eight equals equals equals D