Notices
General Discussion and Debate Discuss, Debate, and Converse with other Honda-Tech members in a mature, intelligent manner.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

I'm looking to build a simple desktop...

Old 03-16-2008, 12:28 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Default I'm looking to build a simple desktop...

I'm a noob at this but here's what I want. A friend of mine bought the Dell Vostro Slim Tower chassis with a 250w PSU off of ebay, specifically this one here.

He offered it to me and I thought it would be cool to pick this up and build something very simple to suit my needs. I only need it to run one application for work, my dsl internet/email, and MS Office, nothing else. I really need it to be quick though because the application I need to run for work will be useless if it's slow.

Anyway, there was a thread I was looking for to get me started, it had a list of how to build a basic desktop with all types of components explained. Can't find it anymore.

I only need about 20 gigs of hd space, basic, yet quick. So first of all, is this chassis a good platform to start off with? And how can I find out what motherboard/hd/processor/etc. is compatible with this tower? That should get me started on the right foot for now. TIA.
Old 03-16-2008, 02:38 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Default Re: I'm looking to build a simple desktop... (MARVNVRAM)

Old 03-16-2008, 04:05 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Whats your budget?
Old 03-16-2008, 04:52 AM
Grandpa

Default Re: I'm looking to build a simple desktop... (MARVNVRAM)

<TABLE WIDTH="90%" CELLSPACING=0 CELLPADDING=0 ALIGN=CENTER><TR><TD>Quote, originally posted by MARVNVRAM &raquo;</TD></TR><TR><TD CLASS="quote">I'm a noob at this but here's what I want. A friend of mine bought the Dell Vostro Slim Tower chassis with a 250w PSU off of ebay....</TD></TR></TABLE>