Notices

Turbocharging Questions for 1st time D16 user.

Old 10-23-2016, 09:33 PM
Trial User

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Turbocharging Questions for 1st time D16 user.

I know there are probably countless threads out there about turbocharging civics. From the ones I've seen, everyone is always asking the wrong questions for what I'm looking for.

To get into it, I have a 1995 hatchback civic with a d16 engine.

I've never turbo'd a car before so I thought this would be a good start. I am fairly new to the forced induction part of the car world. I don't have much experience in terms of engines with stock internals being boosted so i don't know how much they can handle before going boom. I know how turbos work and how people set them up (forged internals and what not). I will be daily driving this car so it needs to be durable and not crap out on me cause I'm running too high of boost. I know turbo size maters in terms of psi and power so please don't sit there and tell me that. here's a good layout of the stuff I need to know.

I have a budget of about 2k.
I am aiming for 250-300hp (if that's realistic)
What turbo would be recommended to get?
What needs to be upgraded so nothing go's boom or craps out on me?
Will I need to modify any of the existing parts?
Can I use stock computer or do I need to buy aftermarket?
Can I self tune and is that hard?

I'm sure there are questions I'm missing that I will remember later. I'm not looking for a 7 page essay on how I need to do research. I've spent forever trying not find answers and it seems like everyone disagrees on just about everything ("you can run 23psi" "NO! 23 is too high, 8 psi is better") I try to find so I'm just asking and being thorough. Just answer the damn questions and throw in anything else I'm missing. Sorry if I just sounded harsh, this is frustrating.
Old 10-23-2016, 09:39 PM
Stancetard Hate Monger

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default re: Turbocharging Questions for 1st time D16 user.

1. decent