Notices

Turbo newbie here.. What do you guys think of my proposed setup?

Old 11-28-2001, 06:09 PM
New User

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Turbo newbie here.. What do you guys think of my proposed setup?

I am a turbo newbie, but am 100% sure I want to go with it on my R. I just wanted to show you turbo gurus my setup, so you can critique it. My goal with this setup is low 12s, high 11s on slicks.. So mid 12s street tires. Here it is:

- Drag 3 Turbo Kit
- Hondata Stage 2b or 3b
- Thermal R&D 3" Catback
- Custom 3" Downpipe
- Apex'i Turbo Timer / AVC-R
- Tial Wastegate
- RC 440 Injectors
- ACT Extreme Pressure plate w/ street disc..
- Pistons and rods not listed, b/c I don't know which brand to go with.. Help!

Suggestions, criticizm (constructive of course ) and other comments would be great! I want to run it as safe as possible! Also, what is the best compression for me to run, with minimum lag...
Old 11-28-2001, 06:32 PM

Default Re: Turbo newbie here.. What do you guys think of my proposed setup? (1 FAST R)

What is your budget like? I would get JE pistons.. or the SRP's.. made by the same company but different silicon content. Get the Eagle rods.. cheap and strong. Crowers are too expensive since you guys (Hondas) have alternatives like Eagle.
Old 11-28-2001, 06:32 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Default Re: Turbo newbie here.. What do you guys think of my proposed setup? (1 FAST R)

You are going to need intectors larger than 550cc then.
Old 11-28-2001, 06:35 PM
New User

Default Re: Turbo newbie here.. What do you guys think of my proposed setup? (dustin)

My budget is around $7500-8000.... total!

Larger injectors? Why? Basically, I just want to be able to shut up the Domestic guys, like the SS and Trans Am owners... I will be using 8-10 daily driven, and hope for 16-18 at the track... How much boost will I need to be in High 11s?

What compression pistons should I get.. I heard 9:1 will cause major lag...
Old 11-28-2001, 07:57 PM
Texas B*tch!