Notices

Turbo GSR on stock internals

Search this Thread

Old 05-02-2014, 11:24 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Turbo GSR on stock internals

I'm in the market for a new DD and looking for a GSR to be specific.
I found a 2001 GSR with stock internals. The guy has a Garrett T70 A.R70/63 t3/t4 turbo on it.

I'm new to the FI world. What is the size and specs of this turbo can someone please assist.

also he mentioned that car smokes a little from the exhaust after turbo was put in. what should i look for when inspecting the car.
Old 05-02-2014, 11:30 AM
Who is Mr Robot?

Received 10 Likes on 10 Posts
Default Re: Turbo GSR on stock internals

the aspect ratio of the housings doesn't mean anything... there's an endless combination of wheels that would fit in those housings.

we need pictures, etc.

if it smokes it's likely the turbo has a seal issue, or the motor could have a bad valve stem seal or the rings/pistons are damaged

again, we need pictures and specifics, like a full parts list, power level, etc.

I would suggest you have someone do a leakdown and compression test to gauge the health of the motor
Old 05-02-2014, 11:31 AM
Who is Mr Robot?

the aspect ratio of the housings doesn't mean anything... there's an endless combination of wheels that would fit in those housings.

we need pictures, etc.

if it smokes it's likely the turbo has a seal issue, or the motor could have a bad valve stem seal or the rings/pistons are damaged

again, we need pictures and specifics, like a full parts list, power level, etc.

I would suggest you have someone do a leakdown and compression test to gauge the health of the motor
Old 05-02-2014, 11:34 AM
Honda-Tech Member

He claims he just slapped a turbo on few months ago, and still is tuning the car, so i don't have any power levels or dyno sheets.

Stock motor. here is what i have from a specs aspect.
Turbo
Garrett T70 A.R70/63 t3/t4 turbo
Greddy type rs blowoff
Turbodynamic log manifold
Tial wastegate