Notices

Turbo GSR Idaho High School Project

Search this Thread

Old 08-03-2008, 11:16 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Turbo GSR Idaho High School Project

I finally finished my turbo build that my friend and I have been working on for the past six months. Our high school offers a course called an Extended Learning Internship which is a class in which students pick a topic to research and learn about with the help of a community mentor. During the first semester of our class, we researched turbocharging and collected parts for our build which we worked on during the second semester. The project took longer than we expected because of what seemed like countless problems that we encountered. In addition, it was our first time performing major modifications to a car. We did not get it finished before the end of the school year (this did not affect our grade).

The set-up:

All stock internals B18C1
Garrett T3/TO4E 57 trim, .63 A/R
Meutek cast manifold
Tial 38mm wastegate
Tuner Toys 660cc injectors
Walbro 190lph fuel pump
PLX m300 wideband
Mototola 2.5 bar map sensor
Full 3” downpipe and exhaust
Tuner Toys oil line kit
Cometic 0.051” thick headgasket
ARP headstuds
Buddy Club cam gears
Six puck, stage 4, unsprung Competition clutch
7.5 lb Fidanza flywheel
Innovative mounts with race bushings
Half size dual core radiator and slim fan
2" charge piping to the intercooler and 2.5" after the intercooler
Golden Eagle Vacuum manifold
Hondata S300 with boost options

I had it tuned yesterday by Reid at Kaizenspeed on their Dyno Dynamics Dynometer. On 12psi, it made 237.5 whp which was converted to 264.2 whp on a Dynojet.