Honda-Tech - Honda Forum Discussion

Honda-Tech - Honda Forum Discussion (https://honda-tech.com/forums/)
-   Forced Induction (https://honda-tech.com/forums/forced-induction-16/)
-   -   Turbo build an LS help.. (https://honda-tech.com/forums/forced-induction-16/turbo-build-ls-help-3327138/)

Ziggy514 09-10-2018 05:11 PM

Turbo build an LS help..

Im new to FI, I want to turbo my 1999 B18B1 motor for some weekend fun, maybe a few track runs here and there.Basically a street build.
Everything Is a little overwhelming and I really don't know where to start.
I was thinking of getting a whole "new" motor.. maybe even a b20 because cheap af!
My Ls has 144k on it and its all stock. Should I just do a refresh (Timing,gaskets,etc?) or?
Also what size turbo is ideal and what all is really needed to have a decently reliable turbo car?
My goal is 250-275 hp. Very mild as I've never really had a "fast" car before.
any advice or help is appreciated.

turboLScrx 09-10-2018 05:45 PM

Re: Turbo build an LS help..

Originally Posted by Ziggy514 (Post 51726687)
Im new to FI, I want to turbo my 1999 B18B1 motor for some weekend fun, maybe a few track runs here and there.Basically a street build.
Everything Is a little overwhelming and I really don't know where to start.
I was thinking of getting a whole "new" motor.. maybe even a b20 because cheap af!
My Ls has 144k on it and its all stock. Should I just do a refresh (Timing,gaskets,etc?) or?
Also what size turbo is ideal and what all is really needed to have a decently reliable turbo car?
My goal is 250-275 hp. Very mild as I've never really had a "fast" car before.
any advice or help is appreciated.