Notices

IS there a lt of addition maintainence with turbo cars

Search this Thread

Old 09-08-2002, 06:23 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default IS there a lt of addition maintainence with turbo cars

Here is the deal, I have a 1997 civic ex with 50k miles on it, babied all of its "life" so I figure it is safe to boost 5-6psi, I will get tests done closer to the time when I purchase my turbo kit.

But here is my question, If I only boost 5-6 psi, and have it professionally tuned, and take good care of the motor (frequesnt oil changes etc.) will it be nearly as reliable as stock.

I always hear horror stories and stories about stuff not working right/ breaking on here, I dont know if that is because a lot of stuff breaks, or if it is because you guys dont tell us everyday that nothing has gone wrong so far.

Please help me out here, b/c I want to boost so badly, but I dont have a lot of money b/c I am a student right now, and I need to know if I will be able to afford it.

Thanks!!!
Old 09-08-2002, 06:36 PM

Default Re: IS there a lt of addition maintainence with turbo cars (Briman2021)

It's only as reliable as your tuning.....and some common sense
Old 09-08-2002, 06:49 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Here is the deal, I have a 1997 civic ex with 50k miles on it, babied all of its "life" so I figure it is safe to boost 5-6psi, I will get tests done closer to the time when I purchase my turbo kit.

But here is my question, If I only boost 5-6 psi, and have it professionally tuned, and take good care of the motor (frequesnt oil changes etc.) will it be nearly as reliable as stock.

I always hear horror stories and stories about stuff not working right/ breaking on here, I dont know if that is because a lot of stuff breaks, or if it is because you guys dont tell us everyday that nothing has gone wrong so far.