Notices

Running b16 naturally aspirated on low compression? HELP!

Search this Thread

Old 05-10-2015, 06:13 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Icon2 Running b16 naturally aspirated on low compression? HELP!

Hey all,
I'm fairly new to this so excuse my lack of knowledge. So about a year ago I decided to do my first motor swap on my 97 civic dx coupe. I bought a b16 that was "built for boost", it has 9.0:1 wiseco pistons, eagle rods, stock crank, stock valves, skunk 2 dual valve springs, titanium retainers, edlebrock victor x intake manifold, 750cc injectors, aem fuel rail, walboro fuel pump, turbonetics external wastegate on drag 4 bolt manifold. I cheaped out and bought a ebay turbo kit (I know, Iknow, I got paid for.... anyways). I went to get it tuned which didn't end well, the tune would not save to the ecu, and the guy said I was loosing compression. SO my questions is, if I were to return the fuel pump back to stock, put some rc 270cc injectors, got a pair of headers, and obviously got it tuned, would I be able to run the motor without any issues?!

Any advice/opinions will be much appreciated, I'm just tired of looking at the car sitting in my garage.

Thanks!
Old 05-10-2015, 10:06 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Default Re: Running b16 naturally aspirated on low compression? HELP!

It sounds like your so called tuner doesn't know what the hell they are doing. Either that or your car has a lot of issues. What engine management are you using?

Yes you could run the car n/a with 9-1 compression. Is it ideal, no far from it. It will be down on power and probably not the most enjoyable thing to drive around town being that's it a no torque b16 to begin with.
Old 05-10-2015, 10:43 AM
Honda-Tech Member